Carthage must be destroyed

Life in pink

Life in pink. It’s the promise of this Australian coffee hidden in an industrial warehouse in East Williamsburg. And when we say hidden, we assure you that it is not easy to find the entrance even when you have the address. No sign or indication. You’ll have to sneak in an alley on Bogart street between two buildings, before seeing tucked away in a courtyard a building whose air vents and external piping were repainted in pink. Pink Monochrome. You’ll think you’re in a Pantone…

Read More...
PS Kitchen

The good deed

It’s a feel-good restaurant. Because it serves a plant based detox menu? Because everything is delicious and you’ll want to devour the whole menu? Because you’re going to be seduced by the sexy atmosphere and the bar where you can sip veggie cocktails? Yes, all of that. But there’s more! PS Kitchen also has the distinctive characteristic of donating ALL of its profits to charity and employing 1/3 of its staff from underprivileged and socially marginalized backgrounds. Meet April. A woman with a big heart…

Read More...
Sunny's bar

NYC’s best dive bar

Sunny’s is not just a bar, it’s a legend. This establishment has been owned by the Neapolitan Balzano family for over a century now. Opened in 1890 in the harbor of Red Hook, it passed through time under various names. Once the haunt of longshoremen and sailors, the bar has now become the refuge of artists and, along with the neighborhood’s gentrification, the sanctuary of a few hipsters. If over the decades the clientele dramatically shifted, the atmosphere however remains exactly the same. It’s a simple dive bar, a timeless…

Read More...
Yurt Alert

Yurt alert

Brrr. It’s cold outside. You have entered hibernation mode and the only thing that could drag you out of your winter torpor (and your quilt) is an exceptional venue. What about an end-of-the-world experience? This winter the terrace of the Standard Hotel East Village transforms into a Siberian forest. Five yurts are hidden in an enchanting setting, in the middle of the fir trees and between the garlands of light. Come inside to warm up! Inside the tents, the muted atmosphere is closer to the…

Read More...
In and of itself

Beyond magic

It’s a new show – but we can’t tell you about it. It is an original and surprising experience – but we can’t reveal anything. Anyone who saw it will urge you to go, but no one will give you any details. So how do you talk about a show when you can’t disclose anything? It is a performance at the crossroads of a haunting one-man play, a bewildering magic show and an immersive theater experience. A one-of-a-kind hybrid concept. When you enter the small…

Read More...
Knightshift

Ephemeral & enchanting

What would you say of a gastronomic menu in the intimacy of a small local bakery? It sounds very much like a Christmas tale. At nightfall, the kitchen of a Brooklyn bakery transforms into a fancy grand restaurant. Chef Mads Refslund has temporarily settled in Claus Meyer’s bakery. These two met while working at Noma, the Danish darling restaurant of all globetrotters, which won the title of world’s best restaurant for several years. This Christmas season Meyers Bageri metamorphoses into Knightshift where a culinary high…

Read More...
Plaisirs d'hiver

3 winter pleasures

Left picture: cheese fondue at Diviera Drive (photo credit to Jeanne Chiaravalli); Top right picture: hot chocolate at Cacao Market; bottom right picture: knitting with Sophie. We have some good and some bad news. The bad news is that it’s going to get colder and colder. The good news is that we have 3 discoveries to share that will soften the blow of winter’s arrival. 3 guilty pleasures to warm you up and help you to have some patience while waiting for Christmas to get here….

Read More...
Katonah museum

A day in Westchester

So we’re back to winter time. It’s the beginning of a long tunnel of too short days and too cold nights. To give you a little boost, we put together a special daytrip upstate, close to NYC. A culture / hiking / gastronomy trilogy that that will cheer you up. First stop: the charming hamlet of Katonah, one hour north of Manhattan. The Katonah Art Museum is a hidden gem under the radar of most art-lovers. The space is tiny (managing expectations here: it is…

Read More...
Café l'estudio

Small café, Big crush

Fall has quietly set in New York, at the slow pace of vermilion leaves paving the streets of Manhattan and dwindling temperatures. Indian summer is officially over! Our new fancy: find the best spots to sip a steaming hot tea curled up in a comfy sofa. And to smoothly start November, we found you a cozy little café where you can enter hibernation mode. L’estudio is your new sanctuary on the Lower East Side from here on out. A café full of charm where hanging around feels just right. It’s the kind…

Read More...
Groupmuse

Get ready to be surprised

What we love in New York is discovering hidden gems, finding oneself in exceptional places and being surprised. Recently we had the chance to attend a cello concert in a chocolate factory lost in the far shore of Brooklyn with a beer and chocolate tasting. Magical moment! Or listening to a string quartet in a remote artists’ studio on the beach 50 minutes from Manhattan. Total change of scene! How? By way of Groupmuse. Groupmuse is a classical music collective which invites itself in exceptional…

Read More...

Carthage must be destroyed

La vie en rose

Voir la vie en rose. C’est la promesse de ce café australien caché dans un entrepôt industriel brooklynois. Et quand on dit caché, on vous assure que ce n’est pas facile de trouver l’entrée même quand vous êtes muni de l’adresse. Pas d’enseigne ou d’indication. Il faut pénétrer un peu au hasard dans une allée sur Bogart street entre deux immeubles, avant d’apercevoir au détour d’une cour intérieure, un immeuble dont les bouches d’aération et la tuyauterie extérieure ont été repeints en rose. Monochrome. Vous…

Read More...
PS Kitchen

Votre prochaine B.A.

C’est un restaurant qui va vous faire du bien. Parce que c’est un menu detox à base de plantes ? Parce que tout est délicieux et que vous allez dévorer la carte? Parce que vous allez être séduit par l’ambiance et le bar où siroter des cocktails aux légumes ? Oui, tout ça. Mais pas seulement ! PS Kitchen a surtout la particularité de reverser l’intégralité de ses profits à des associations caritatives et d’embaucher 1/3 de son personnel issu de milieux défavorisés ou marginalisé socialement. On vous…

Read More...
Sunny's bar

Le meilleur bar de NYC

Sunny’s n’est pas un simple bar, c’est une légende. C’est la famille napolitaine Balzano qui détient cet établissement depuis plus d’un siècle maintenant. Ouvert en 1890 dans le port de Red Hook il a traversé les époques sous différents noms. Jadis le repaire des dockers et marins il est devenu, au rythme de la gentrification du quartier, le refuge des artistes et aujourd’hui le sanctuaire de quelques hipsters. Si au fil des décennies la clientèle a beaucoup changé, l’ambiance, elle, n’a pas bougé d’un iota. C’est un bar sans prétention mais…

Read More...
Yurt Alert

Dîner dans une yourte

Brrr. Il fait froid. Vous êtes passé en mode hibernation et la seule chose qui pourrait vous sortir de votre torpeur hivernale (et de votre couette) c’est un endroit d’exception. Que diriez-vous d’une expérience bout du monde ? Cet hiver la terrasse du Standard hôtel d’East Village prend des allures de forêt sibérienne. Dans un décor givré enchanteur, au milieu des sapins et entre les guirlandes lumineuses, se cachent cinq yourtes où il fait bon venir se réchauffer. Confort et réconfort. À l’intérieur des tentes, l’ambiance…

Read More...
In and of itself

Mystère et boule de gomme

C’est un nouveau spectacle – mais on ne peut pas vous en parler. C’est une expérience originale et surprenante – mais on ne peut rien dévoiler. Tous ceux qui l’ont vu vous presseront d’y aller mais personne ne vous donnera plus de détails. Alors comment parle-t-on d’un spectacle dont on ne peut rien divulguer? C’est une représentation à la frontière entre le one-man-show, le spectacle de magie et la performance théâtrale. Un concept hybride tout à fait singulier. Quand vous entrez dans le petit théâtre…

Read More...
Knightshift

Ephémère & enchanté

Un menu gastronomique dans l’intimité d’une petite boulangerie de quartier, ça vous tente ? C’est comme un conte de Noël. À la tombée de la nuit, la cuisine d’une pâtisserie de Williamsburg se transforme en grand restaurant. Le chef Mads Refslund s’est installé provisoirement dans la boulangerie de Claus Meyer. Ces deux-là se sont rencontrés lorsqu’ils travaillaient chez Noma, le restaurant danois coqueluche de tous les globe-croqueurs qui a, pendant des années, raflé le titre de meilleur restaurant du monde. Le temps des fêtes de Noël…

Read More...
Plaisirs d'hiver

3 plaisirs d’hiver

Photo à gauche: une fondue à Diviera Drive (crédit photo: Jeanne Chiaravalli); en haut à droite: un chocolat chaud chez Cacao Market; en bas à droite: du tricot avec Mlle Sophie. On a une bonne et une mauvaise nouvelle. La mauvaise, c’est qu’il va faire de plus en plus froid. La bonne, c’est qu’on va vous faire aimer l’hiver en 3 petits plaisirs. On partage avec vous 3 découvertes qui vont vous réchauffer et vous aider à patienter jusqu’à Noël.   Siroter un chocolat chaud…

Read More...
Katonah museum

Virée champêtre

Ça y est, nous sommes passés à l’heure d’hiver. C’est le début d’un long tunnel de journées trop courtes et de nuits trop froides. Pour vous donner un petit coup de boost, on vous a concocté une escapade à côté de NYC. Un triptyque culture / randonnée / gastronomie qui va vous réchauffer le moral. Première étape : la petite ville de Katonah, à une heure au nord de Manhattan. Le musée d’art de Katonah est un petit bijou sous le radar de beaucoup d’amateurs d’art….

Read More...
Café l'estudio

Petit café, gros coup de coeur

L’automne s’est discrètement installé à New York, au rythme lent des feuilles bronze et rouge vermeil qui pavent les rues de Manhattan et des températures qui dégringolent. Fini l’été indien ! Notre nouvelle lubie: trouver le meilleur endroit où siroter un thé fumant lové dans un canapé. Et pour commencer en douceur ce mois de novembre on vous a dégoté un petit café douillet où commencer votre hibernation. L’estudio c’est votre nouveau sanctuaire Lower East Side. Un café bourré de charme où il fait bon traîner….

Read More...
Groupmuse

Laissez-vous surprendre

Ce qu’on aime à New York c’est découvrir des endroits cachés, se retrouver dans des lieux exceptionnels et se laisser surprendre. Récemment on a eu la chance d’écouter un concert de violoncelles dans une chocolaterie perdue au fin fond de Brooklyn avec une dégustation de bière et chocolat à la clé. Magie du moment ! Ou encore d’assister au concert d’un quatuor à cordes dans une maison d’artistes sur la plage à 50 minutes de Manhattan. Dépaysement total ! Comment ? Grâce à Groupmuse. Cadre industriel…

Read More...